Travel The World With JFAO!


International Cultural Exchanges



Spots Available

Approx. Dates

Approx. Duration


United Kingdom


Northern Ireland-May 12-26
Scotland June 10th-July 21





End of May- July

Up to 6 weeks




 June 10 – July 21

Up to 6 weeks




End of June

Up to 3 months




July 3rd – mid August

6 -12 weeks




July 17th – July 31st

2 weeks


Republic of Ireland


 Dates to be determined (August)

3 weeks


Apply for the above exchanges by February 28, 2019 by downloading the application form here: Exchange Application (Microsoft Word)

JFAO International Exchange Program Hosting Application (PDF)



All applicants must have been a JF member in good standing for at least one year. International applicants 20-29 (max. 26 for Welsh & Austria exchange) as of January 1st the year of the exchange. Following each exchange, a travel bursary is offered once all of the program requirements are completed. Please see the Travel section of the JFAO Policies for more specific requirements and bursary amounts.

Opportunity conditions will be based on the policies in effect as of January 31st.

Note: A past exchangee may apply for a different travel opportunity.

Priority will be given to any qualified member who has not previously been awarded a travel opportunity

2018 Incoming Exchange Delegates


Ethan-Williams--Australia Ethan Williams – Australia

Ethan is 24 years old and a butcher of 7 years. He joined Rural Youth in 2011, and has been progressed to be President of his club and the Agfest field days Exhibitor Manager. He is involved with his community cricket and football clubs, and show society. He also enjoys softball, fishing and shooting. He is interested in learning different ways of agriculture on his exchange.

Simone-Hutter--Austria Simone Hutter – Austria

Simone is 25 years old and works as an office clerk. She joined the Landjugend (Young Farmers’ club) at 15, and has taken on roles such as leader of their 60-jubilee, and leader of her district for 3 years. She enjoys reading, jogging, swimming, visiting friends, and travelling. She is interested in learning about cattle and grain farms, and wineries. She applied for the exchange program to travel and see more than her own country, and to build friendships around the world.


Adam-Messenger--England Adam Messenger – England

Adam is 24 years old, and is an assistant farm manager on a dairy farm operation. He is an outdoor enthusiast; he enjoys fell walking, canoeing, skiing, clay-pigeon shooting, and orienteering. He also has a keen interest in homebrewing. On his exchange to Canada he would like to watch a lacrosse game, attend a Canadian Country event, see a maple syrup farm, go to a rodeo, and have a chance to see the lakes by canoe or boat.


Julia-Menzel--Germany Julia Menzel – Germany

Julia is 23 years old, and is a student of graphic design. She is a member of the Pattenson/Calenberger Land Young Farmers’ Club where she looks after event organization. She is also a member of her local fire brigade, a letterperson, and participates in dragon boating. She enjoys being outdoors and seeing nature.

Laura-Agnew--Northern-Ireland Laura Agnew – Northern Ireland

Laura is 21 and is a BSc Hons student studying food technology. She is currently on a placement year at Cranswick Country Foods, which is a pig factory. She lives in a small hamlet called Grange, where she is a member of the Randalstown and District Young Farmers club. She has been a member there for 7 years. She has recently started playing rugby and enjoys doing floral arranging and socializing with friends. On her exchange she wishes to get insight into Canada’s Agri-food sector, with visiting any type of farm or factory. She would also like to see Toronto and Niagara Falls.


Hazel-Murray--Scotland Hazel Murray – Scotland

Hazel is 20 years of age and she is from Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland. She is a member of Lower Nithsdale Young Farmers Club and is currently studying BSc Hons in Secondary Physical Education at Stirling University in her 2nd year. She lives on her family beef and sheep farm where they run a herd of pedigree Luing cattle. Hazel also breeds and sell Pygmy Goats. She is a member of Nithsdale Rowing Club where she has competed at all levels and is now qualified as a rowing coach. She is excited to be travelling over to Canada this summer and can’t wait to meet everybody! She notes as a personal preference she would love to see horses used in work around the farms. She would also love to see a local rodeo and the community and culture around this event. A taste of Rowing in Ontario would be a great experience for her.


Severin-Walser--Switzerland Severin Walser – Switzerland

Severin is 21 and is a carpenter. He lives in a farming village and is experienced with harvest and tree care. He wishes to travel the world before returning to school at the University of Applied Sciences in Switzerland. Severin is not part of a Young Farmers’ organization but a Scouts leader. He would like to be able to help on different farms, meet other young farmers and experience the life of a young Canadian while he is on exchange. His interested in all kinds of sports and action, and would like to visit an exhibition or national park while in Canada.


2018 Fall Exchange Delegates
Laura Watson

24 years old

From Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Laura currently works on her family farm, which includes sheep and cattle work, machinery work, working in free range poultry layer units, as well as marketing of eggs and paperwork. She also does cleaning of holiday cottage. Laura has been a member of her Young Farmers’ club for 12 years, holding many positions at the club and county level. During her time here, if possible, she would like to experience Canadian way of life, see some agriculture, and visit Niagara Falls.


Jonathan Morgan

26 years old

From Haverford West, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Jonathan comes from a 107 hectare beef and sheep farm, and has completed a BSc (Hons) in Agriculture from Harper Adam’s University. He has been a member of his local Young Farmers club for 12 years. He would like to see a hockey match, go hiking, and visit farms while in Canada.

Congratulations to the 2018 Travel Exchange Winners! Pictured Left to

Congratulations to the 2018 Travel Exchange Winners! Pictured Left to Right: Nic Willemsma (Germany), Danielle Teefy (Scotland), Amanda Brodhagen (United Kingdom), Erich Weber (President), Matt Smith (Past President), Zach Lance (Wales), Kate Johnson (Austria), and Meaghan Weber (2017 Executive Director of Community and International Programs). Missing from the photo: Adrian Straathof (Republic of Ireland).